top of page

How life it is - First Day in Ghana

Took a tro tro (to Makola Market). First you may ask, "What is a tro tro?" It's like a passenger van that fits many people. It's hot, it's bumpy and an inexpensive way to make your way around Accra, the capital city of Ghana. But we were treated to a young boy giving a sermon and singing hyms as other passengers joined in. It was soothing and beautiful on our tro tro ride on the way home, it is sunday, a day of church. So did I decide to go to the market into the heart of Accra on my own after over 24hrs of travel, "no". With the other profellow, Amanda Cox, we were sent on a scanvenger hunt to the marketplace by EWB to really to get out of our comfort zone. I knew I would feel comfortable, I've heard so muc about Ghana. Even at breakfast in our guest house, some people from Namibia had said what wonderful place Ghana is. The Real Africa. The people are warm, relaxed and welcoming. This I agree with already. As we make our way through the Circle market meandering our way through a narrow pathway with shops on each side. Selling anything from shaving cream to SIM cards. We walk. Or rather carefully run across the busy street dodging taxis, tro tros and motorbikes into another tro tro to Makola Market. The Market is "quiet" for a Sunday. Sellers sit with their baskets full of dried fish, peppers, and yams. The smells of a market hit me dried fish in the sun...but I'm distracted by beautiful bright fabrics catch my eye. We were sent on a mission to buy two yards of cloth as a wrap around skirt. As I go stall to stall feeling the heavy waxy fabric between my fingers. Seeing all the Ghanaian ladies walking with their beautiful prints in long tapered skirts that flare out at the bottom with fitted blouses that have puffy sleeves just off the shoulder. Being "Happy Sunday" I'm thinking most are on their way from church services. I buy my print from a lovely lady who has many more fabrics I would love to purchase. But I haven't even made it to my final destination of Tamale so I politely say "no" to the other fabrics I was eyeing up. But look forward to making my way throughout the markets of Tamale. The night was spent eating with Lauren, Amanda, Jacqueline (from Calgary too), and Sedem a Ghanaian that proudly University of Legon, Ghana and we talked about politics and economy of Ghana. We ate Sedem's yam fries a new venture he has set up. Sedem makes all the frozen yam fries in his own small kitchen. They are less expensive then regular potatoes that are normally imported. Yams are a main crop in Ghana. It is a great opportunity and untapped market. Taking yams from growers that might otherwise go bad due to waiting to sell to market or sell overseas. His passion for creating change in his country, I know he will be successful.

Back into a cab and back to our guest house. Great first day in Ghana!

Small time,

Alexis

image.jpeg


bottom of page