top of page

Ghana: My home away from home


On Aug 2, 2014 I went to Ghana on a six month secondment with Engineers Without Borders Canada as a professional fellow with AfriLEAD Institute in Tamale, Northern Ghana.

In my mind I was headed to complete a project. With this in mind I landed in Accra, and met up with CEO of AfriLEAD Peter Awin and EWB Project Manager, Hermann Nare to interview potential candidates for the AfriLEAD/EWB partnership program, Youn Mangers Program.

The next 5 months of my life have forever changed my life. I first had to lose the notion of my western approach to a project, that everything must be perfect, must be on time and must adhere to said project scope as agreed by said governemental agencies…ok you get it, and so did I after 2 months of fighting it.

I have gained lifetime friends, new visions, and my true values of how I see life. I’m an idealist, and I know that and yes, I love that I think like that.

I came home to my family, frie


bottom of page