top of page

One Month in Ghana: 10 Things I Have Learned In Tamale

10 Things I have learned living in Tamale:

1) When it rains, it's a torrential downpour and nobody leaves the house, place of work, etc. I get it.

2) Internet is a constant issue…you think you have it, then just as I’m about to upload the file or blog you’ve lost the internet. I rely wireless at the office with 2 different carriers, a modem with Vodaphone, my phone with MTN. Some days all prove not to work. Like for instance, as I am trying to update my blog. Not tonight! Try tomorrow.

3) Water is intermittent, but you just store a large container of water and it will get you through. The water is very clean, I still think I should not drink it, but it’s clean and clear.

4) Electricity goes out usually during the rainstorms. Again, just keep your laptops, phones, and headlamps charged. And if you don’t have those; you are never alone in Africa, visit your neighbor.

5) My landlord is full of empty promises. I’m full of empty threats. But, I think we both almost enjoy the banter back and forth on text. It’s been a month of back and forth on various things. The conversation goes like this:

Me: “Where are you? I’m waiting for you to pick my keys up to fix the bathroom termite problem”.

His response: “I’m in the mosque.” (I always listen now for the call to prayer, before I text him)

Him: “I called you, you weren’t picking up.” (I look at my phone, he called 17 times in 15 minutes).

Him: “I can’t find you on Facebook.”

Me: “Would you come fix my door then if we were Facebook friends?” (I’m down to I will find some tools and remove the door myself).

6) The only way to get around in Tamale is on a bicycle or motorbike. It’s too far to walk, and the rains have made the area where I live an island. My taxi driver has named the crossroads where I live appropriately, “Island Junction”. So I have purchased a bicycle, and now I’m a free expat roaming the streets of Kpalsi, Tamale. Trying to master wearing long skirts and riding a bike, bit of challenge for me so far. There is a chain guard, but the skirt gets caught in the pedals when I take off, haha.

IMG_1225.JPG

7) I never have to walk far to be greeted by someone. My walk to work, to grab a taxi or to the market, is greeted by locals, saying, “good morning, good evening or good afternoon” and inviting me as they prepare meals over the charcoal fire, or inviting me to sit and share a meal.

8) The sunsets and stars at night are amazing. It is the rainy season, but when there are no clouds in the sky, the sunsets are fiery orange and reflect red, weathered soils (Oxisols – thanks Michael Cody for soil classification).

10561621_10154595840595436_7537857568296921560_n.jpg

9) Lambs are really cute until they turn into adult sheep, then not so cute. Goats love to stand on anything. Roosters call out not only in the morning, but also in the night, like 3am.

10) I have learned that I walk to busy, the western pace, and have learned to just…slow…things…down….I am still working on that. Not every moment needs a purpose. You really are just where you should be. It may be standing looking at the stars with my neighbor in my compound as she waits with me for my taxi or visiting when someone invites you to their home by saying, “You are welcome”.

Life in Tamale, was it what I thought it would be? I really didn’t know what to expect. What I didn’t expect was that I would fall in love with Tamale. Below is a photo tonight at sunset just outside my compound, these are one of the many reasons I have fallen in love with Ghana and Tamale.

IMG_1226.jpg

bottom of page